Getting organised for 2018 – Command Centre

I don’t know about you but I feel like 2018 is only just starting today as today is my first day back at work.

I thought I would share with you what tools I use to organise my family. This week I am sharing our command centre

What is a command centre? It’s a place that each member of the family can access to find out information on what’s happening.

This is our command centre.

It is located in our kitchen. It is in a space we access everyday. I think this is important or information won’t be seen and the area will have been set up for no reason.

Let’s take a tour through our command centre.

The “hello” sign was purchased from Target about three or four years ago.

The cork board is from Office Works. We use this for items without magnets.

The magnetic board is also from Office Works.

You all know how important family is to me. Whilst this photo needs updating as my niece was in her Mum’s tummy, I love looking up and seeing everyone there. The frames used here are from IKEA and are the Fiskbo frames.

Next is the “What’s for dinner” frame. This is in the Fiskbo frame and I write on the perspex with a whiteboard marker which rubs off each week. This is a great tool as if Hubby gets home before me, he knows what to cook for dinner, without having to call and ask me.

The empty space there is where we hang out daughter’s homework plastic envelope. It was annoying me being on the kitchen bench or dining room table when she was in Kindergarten so I re-jigged our command centre to make room for it. Easily accessible and easy for her to put away. Worked for two years so far!

Below these are the kids chore charts. These were $5 each from Kmart.

I wanted another piece of pretty amongst the mundane. A simple few words in Microsoft in different fonts did the job!

The pencil holder holds a pen, permanent marker and whiteboard marker. There is usually a pair of scissors here too.

And finally a plastic sleeve for all things school. I store the school term calendar, any permission notes, school reports, certificates etc. I clean it out at the end of each term. I keep some envelopes and post it notes here for letters to the teacher/lunch orders.

I don’t really like the Dyson stick vacuum living here, but it is the most handy spot for us to grab it and do a quick vacuum around the kitchen and dining room. I think I’ll commit and get Hubby to hang the bracket for it here.

Some people have a calendar with their command centres. I use a diary and all dates are entered into that. Will share my diary in the coming weeks. My diary is usually found on the kitchen bench. I’m not a fan of this and am thinking of hanging a shelf on the command centre wall to put it on. Other items you might like to include in your command centre are a clock, key holder, charging station for phones and other devices and a plastic sleeve for takeaway menus.

Here are some images from Pinterest that may provide more inspiration for you.

So tell me, has this been helpful? Do you already have a command centre? Is it working for you? Will you set one up if you don’t already have one? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Getting organised for 2018 – Command Centre

  1. tinakmeyer says:

    My command centre is the calendar on my phone and a note within my phone. It’s just me though, so I don’t need more. God help me if anything happens to my phone though lol.

    Like

Leave a comment