The next generation…

Miss 6 “I wish my bedroom looked like yours, Mummy.”

Me “Why?”

Miss 6 “Because your room looks so tidy all the time and mine looks messy all the time.”

Well as I am sure you’ll guess, my tidy/organised/decluttered heart of mine nearly exploded. This was my first “client” to practice patience and understanding on! This was my moment to shine – okay – getting carried away lol!

I asked Miss 6 to look at me. I wanted to commence our “consultation” stat before the moment passed. I wanted to pass on some wisdom. I wanted Miss 6 to know this…

“This is your room. This is your space. This space should be a reflection of you and who you are. If you do not like something, then it shouldn’t be here. It shouldn’t be in this room. Even if Mummy/Daddy/Grandparents/Aunties/Uncles/Friends bought it for you. If you do not like it, then it does not stay.”

Growing up, I was pretty much allowed to have my room as I wanted it, but I wasn’t allowed to just throw things away if I didn’t like them, especially if one of the people mentioned above had bought it for me. Mum kept so much of my stuff from my childhood and handed it all over when I moved out of home. Most of it has been discarded. Some of it is sitting in my roof waiting to be dealt with. I don’t want this for my children. 


I wanted Miss 6 to know that she doesn’t need to feel guilty about discarding items. If they don’t bring her joy, then it’s time for them to go. The biggest lesson I’ve learned from reading Marie Kondo’s books. 

So, we started. We gathered all her soft toys. She wanted to move most of these to the playroom. We pulled everything off her dressing table and wall shelves. I grouped like with like and she chose which rocks/sea shells/necklaces/bracelets/craft items etc etc that she wanted to keep. 


We then gave everything a wipe over and started placing everything back. I also let her decide where things were to go, only making suggestions if it was an item her brother may try to break and suggesting it go up high. 


She is now very proud of her room and gave her brother a tour when he woke from  his nap. 

Do you take this approach with your kids?  Had success?  Do you think this may be an approach you’ll try?

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m all parenting/wifying/studying/working at the moment. The housework has not been at the top of my to-do list. But this takes its toll on me and I couldn’t ignore it anymore today. So, some more before/after shots for you 😲😲😲


If you’ve enjoyed reading this post, please give it a like. If you have anything to say, leave a comment, I’d love to chat. If you think it would be of benefit to someone, please share. 

Leave a Reply

